
 

 

Superior Courts of California 

NOTICE OF FEE CHANGES 

Effective July 2, 2012 
 
As a result of the enactment of AB 1481, various civil filing fees have been established or 
increased as of July 2, 2012.  The additional revenue from these fee changes will be used to 
offset reductions to trial court funding. 
 

• $50 fee for delivering a will to the clerk of the superior court under Probate Code section 
8200. 

New Fees 

• $30 fee for court reporting services in civil proceedings lasting under one hour. 
 

• $40 increase to first paper filing fees for unlimited civil cases where the amount in 
controversy is more than $25,000. 

Increased Fees 

• $40 increase to various probate and family law fees. 
• $20 increase to various motion fees. 
• $450 increase to the complex case fee. 

 

• The advance jury fee is fixed at $150, is no longer refundable, and must be deposited earlier 
than previously required.  The fee is due on or before the date scheduled for the initial case 
management conference in the action; if no case management conference is scheduled, no 
later than 365 calendar days after the filing of the initial complaint; if the party has not 
appeared before the initial case management conference or has appeared more than 365 
calendar days after the filing of the initial complaint, at least 25 calendar days before the 
date initially set for trial; or if the action is for unlawful detainer action, at least five days 
before the date set for trial. 

Changed Fee 

 
A revised statewide civil fee schedule will be posted to the California Courts Web site at 
http://www.courts.ca.gov/7646.htm and will also be available at the clerk’s office.  A schedule of 
the criminal and traffic fees, assessments and penalties can also be obtained at the clerk’s office. 
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